VMO 2016/17 Season Finale Concert

May 11, 2017 (Download English PDF) (Download Chinese PDF)

Vancouver, BC — The hustle and bustle of a vibrant metropolitan city evokes an array of sounds and fast-paced momentum. Immerse yourself in the sounds of this dynamic concert with Music Director Maestro Ken Hsieh leading the VMO in the performance of two piano concertos to showcase the 2016 VMO Clef Concerto Competition Winners, performance of two piano concertos to showcase the 2016 VMO Clef Concerto Competition Winners and Mendelssohn’s orchestra gem Symphony No. 4 “Italian”. The Vancouver Metropolitan Orchestra presents “The Sound of the City” Season Finale Concert, Friday June 2nd at Shaughnessy Heights United Church, Vancouver.

Two stunning piano concertos will be performed by the winners of the 2016 VMO Clef Concerto Competition. Junior Category Winner, 12-year-old William Lin, has graced numerous concert stages in North America, Asia, and Europe. Having received many prestigious awards and accolades, William remains humble despite his extraordinary
musicianship. He will be performing the fiery 3rd movement from Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor, composed by a then young and exuberantly talented 22-year-old Mendelssohn, who was by that time an accomplished pianist, conductor, and composer.

Natalie Lo, Senior Category Winner, has firmly established herself as one of BC’s most talented rising stars. She made her debut as a piano soloist with the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra at the age of 13 and have since continued to perform as a soloist with orchestras throughout North America. She will perform Saint-Saëns’ ever popular Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, which is full of virtuostic energy, pulsating rhythms, and dazzling bravura. The work has no shortage of brilliant cadenza passages bearing the hallmarks of Saint-Saëns’ reputation as a master improviser.

Mendelssohn’s’ Symphony No. 4 “Italian”, was composed around the same time as the Piano Concerto No. 1 during his tour of Europe, more specifically through the cities of Italy. This symphony is Mendelssohn’s souvenir of Italy, encapsulating his impressions of the Mediterranean countryside, religious solemnity in Naples and Rome, and impressive architecture and art of Venice, Bologna, and Florence. The fourth and final movement is the most characteristically Italian, marked Presto and in the style of a saltarello, named after the Italian verb “to jump”. This lively Neapolitan folk dance form from medieval times will indeed have your heart racing to its frenzied rhythm.

Join us in celebrating the conclusion of the 14th season with a concert that is sure to move you as you are enveloped with the sounds of our city!


The Sound of the City

June 2, 2017, Friday
Venue: Shaughnessy Heights United Church
1550 W 33rd Ave., Vancouver, BC

Time: 7:30pm (pre-concert talk 7pm)

Award-Winning Canadian Conductor: Ken Hsieh

2016 VMO Clef Concerto Competition Winners:
Senior Category Winner: Natalie Lo
Junior Category Winner: William Lin

Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 1 (3rd Movement)
Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 2 (Complete)
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 (Italian)

Generously Supported By:
Province of British Columbia Community Gaming Grants
Mr. Leigh Pan
Lin Haw International
Metro Vancouver Cultural Grant
Tom Lee Music

Media Sponsor:
Vancouver Shinpo Japanese Weekly Newspaper

Tickets at Eventbrite or by phone 604-876-9397

Regular: General $30.00 / Students and Seniors $25.00