VMO 21th Season Opening


VMO 21th Season Opening 2023


  • Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16
  • Sibelius: Symphony No.2 in D Major, Op. 43
Conductor: Ken Hsieh
Piano soloist: David Fung

The Vancouver Metropolitan Orchestra Society proudly opens its 21st Anniversary Season on September 9, 2023 at the Orpheum Theatre with a majestic programme entitled “Our National Identity,” featuring music by Edvard Grieg and Jean Sibelius. The orchestra will open its programme accompanied by the international-acclaimed Australian pianist David Fung, who will perform Grieg’s Piano Concerto in A-minor. Recognized for interpretations that are elegant and refined, yet intensely poetic and uncommonly expressive, Mr. Fung has appeared with Cleveland Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic, Sydney Symphony Orchestra, and LA Philharmonic. An in-demand pedagogue and Steinway artist, David recently joined the UBC Faculty of Music as a distinguished Associate Professor of Piano.

The Second half of the programme will feature Sibelius’s Symphony No. 2 in D-Major, written shortly after the highly successful premiere of his Finlandia, a piece describing the struggle for Finland’s National Independence and which has become one of the masterworks of the 20th century. Maestro Ken Hsieh leads the orchestra through this regal programme at the historic Orpheum Theatre on September 9, 2023. There will be a pre-concert talk at 7:10pm, with the performance beginning at 7:30pm.

If you are a student/senior looking to purchase tickets, please enter VMOSTUDENT or VMOSENIOR when prompted for a password